Driving Test Practice
English

Rhode Island: Alcohol and drugs — Part 5 Practice Test

Questions in this part include: “For a first DUI violation resulting in serious bodily injury, how much prison time is listed?” · “For a second or subsequent DUI violation (within 5 years) resulting in death, how much prison time is listed?”

Independent educational site · not affiliated with any government agency or DMV

Start the test

Ready? Test yourself

18 questions · About 7 min

  • Instant feedback with an explanation
  • Every answer cites its source in the manual
  • Your best score is saved on this device
  • Keyboard: press 1 to 4 to answer and Enter for the next question

Questions are original and based on the official manual "Rhode Island Driver’s Manual" (April 2024), Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

All 18 questions in this practice test

Take the test above first, then use this list to study. Tap “Show answer” to see the correct answer and explanation.

Show the questions and answersHide the questions
  1. For a third or subsequent DUI violation within a 5-year period at age 21 or older with a BAC of 0.15% or above, what fine range is listed?

    • $400
    • $1,000 - $5,000
    • $500
    • $5,000 - $10,000
    Show answer

    Correct answer: $1,000 - $5,000

    The table lists a $1,000 - $5,000 fine for a third or subsequent DUI at a BAC of 0.15% or above.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 63

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-74)

  2. For a first DUI violation resulting in serious bodily injury, how much prison time is listed?

    • 10 days – 1 year
    • 5 – 15 years
    • 10 – 20 years
    • 1 – 10 years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 1 – 10 years

    A first DUI resulting in serious bodily injury is a felony with 1 – 10 years in prison.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 63

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-75)

  3. For a first DUI violation resulting in serious bodily injury, what license revocation is listed?

    • Up to 6 months
    • Up to 4 years
    • 5 years
    • Up to 2 years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Up to 2 years

    A first DUI resulting in serious bodily injury lists up to a 2-year license revocation.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 63

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-76)

  4. For a second DUI violation (within a 5-year period) resulting in serious bodily injury, how much prison time is listed?

    • 1 – 10 years
    • 2 – 15 years
    • 5 – 15 years
    • 10 – 20 years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 2 – 15 years

    A second DUI within 5 years resulting in serious bodily injury lists 2 – 15 years in prison.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 63

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-77)

  5. For a second DUI violation (within a 5-year period) resulting in serious bodily injury, what license revocation is listed?

    • Up to 2 years
    • 3 years
    • Up to 4 years
    • 5 years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Up to 4 years

    A second DUI within 5 years resulting in serious bodily injury lists up to a 4-year license revocation.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 63

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-78)

  6. For a second DUI violation (within a 5-year period) resulting in serious bodily injury, what fine range is listed?

    • $3,000 - $10,000
    • $1,000 - $5,000
    • $5,000 - $10,000
    • $10,000 - $20,000
    Show answer

    Correct answer: $3,000 - $10,000

    The table lists a $3,000 - $10,000 fine for a second DUI within 5 years resulting in serious bodily injury.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 63

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-79)

  7. For a first DUI violation resulting in death, how much prison time is listed?

    • 5 – 15 years
    • 1 – 10 years
    • 2 – 15 years
    • 10 – 20 years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 5 – 15 years

    A first DUI resulting in death is a felony with 5 – 15 years in prison.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 63

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-80)

  8. For a first DUI violation resulting in death, what license revocation is listed?

    • Up to 2 years
    • Up to 4 years
    • 5 years
    • 3 years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 5 years

    A first DUI resulting in death lists a 5-year license revocation.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 63

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-81)

  9. For a first DUI violation resulting in death, what fine range is listed?

    • $1,000 - $5,000
    • $5,000 - $10,000
    • $3,000 - $10,000
    • $10,000 - $20,000
    Show answer

    Correct answer: $5,000 - $10,000

    The table lists a $5,000 - $10,000 fine for a first DUI resulting in death.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 63

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-82)

  10. For a second or subsequent DUI violation (within 5 years) resulting in death, how much prison time is listed?

    • 2 – 15 years
    • 5 – 15 years
    • 1 – 10 years
    • 10 – 20 years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 10 – 20 years

    A second or later DUI within 5 years resulting in death lists 10 – 20 years in prison.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 64

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-83)

  11. For a second or subsequent DUI violation (within 5 years) resulting in death, what fine range is listed?

    • $3,000 - $10,000
    • $5,000 - $10,000
    • $1,000 - $5,000
    • $10,000 - $20,000
    Show answer

    Correct answer: $10,000 - $20,000

    The table lists a $10,000 - $20,000 fine for a second or later DUI within 5 years resulting in death.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 64

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-84)

  12. A person under 21 who is not with a parent or legal guardian knowingly has liquor in containers, opened or unopened, anywhere in the vehicle. What can the DMV administrator do?

    • Revoke the license for a full year and fine the driver five hundred dollars
    • Suspend the license or deny the right to drive for not more than thirty (30) days
    • Revoke the license until the driver turns 21
    • Take no action, because the containers are unopened
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Suspend the license or deny the right to drive for not more than thirty (30) days

    Under R.I.G.L. 3-8-9 such a driver can have the license suspended or the right to drive denied for up to thirty days.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 64

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-85)

  13. The rule on underage persons transporting alcoholic beverages in a vehicle does not apply to persons of which ages who carry unopened alcoholic beverages in the course of their employment?

    • Between fourteen (14) and eighteen (18)
    • Between eighteen (18) and twenty-five (25)
    • Between sixteen (16) and twenty-one (21)
    • Between twenty-one (21) and thirty (30)
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Between sixteen (16) and twenty-one (21)

    R.I.G.L. 3-8-9 exempts persons between 16 and 21 carrying unopened alcoholic beverages as part of their job.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 64

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-86)

  14. For a first offense of possessing an alcoholic-type beverage while under 21, what fine range is stated?

    • $150 to $750
    • $100 to $500
    • $300 to $750
    • $450 to $750
    Show answer

    Correct answer: $150 to $750

    R.I.G.L. 3-8-10 sets a $150 to $750 fine for a first offense of underage possession.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 64

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-87)

  15. For a second offense of possessing an alcoholic-type beverage while under 21, what fine range is stated?

    • $300 to $750
    • $150 to $750
    • $450 to $750
    • $750 to $1,500
    Show answer

    Correct answer: $300 to $750

    R.I.G.L. 3-8-10 sets a $300 to $750 fine for a second offense.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 64

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-88)

  16. For a third or subsequent offense of possessing an alcoholic-type beverage while under 21, what fine range is stated?

    • $150 to $750
    • $300 to $750
    • $450 to $750
    • $750 to $1,500
    Show answer

    Correct answer: $450 to $750

    R.I.G.L. 3-8-10 sets a $450 to $750 fine for a third or later offense.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 64

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-89)

  17. Besides a fine, a person under 21 who possesses an alcoholic-type beverage is subject to what license penalty?

    • A maximum ten (10) day suspension of the driver’s license
    • A minimum sixty (60) day suspension of the driver’s license
    • A mandatory one-year revocation
    • No effect on the license
    Show answer

    Correct answer: A minimum sixty (60) day suspension of the driver’s license

    R.I.G.L. 3-8-10 subjects underage possession to a minimum sixty-day driver’s license suspension.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 64

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-90)

  18. Upon a second offense of underage possession of an alcoholic-type beverage, what may the person be ordered to undergo?

    • A written driving test and a road test at a Division of Motor Vehicles office
    • A vision test and a hearing test at the DMV office
    • A defensive driving course taught on the road
    • A substance abuse assessment by a licensed substance abuse professional
    Show answer

    Correct answer: A substance abuse assessment by a licensed substance abuse professional

    On a second underage possession offense the person may be ordered to undergo a substance abuse assessment by a licensed professional.

    Source: ⁨Rhode Island Driver’s Manual (April 2024)⁩, page 64

    Report a problem with this question (ri-c10-91)