Driving Test Practice
English

New Hampshire: Licensing basics

Driver education, practice driving from 15½ with a licensed adult, the youth operator license and its limits, the vision, knowledge and road tests, REAL ID, renewal and moving to New Hampshire. Split into 3 shorter tests so you're not stuck in one long quiz.

Independent educational site · not affiliated with any government agency or DMV

All 58 Licensing basics questions with answers

Choose a part above to take a practice test, or study every question and answer here.

Show the questions and answersHide the questions
  1. Under New Hampshire law, which applicants for a driver's license must first complete an approved driver education program?

    • Individuals 16 or 17 years of age
    • Individuals 18 to 20 years of age
    • Only individuals under 16 years of age
    • Only individuals who failed the road test
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Individuals 16 or 17 years of age

    The manual says all individuals 16 or 17 years of age who wish to apply for a driver's license must first complete an approved driver education program.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 1 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 1)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-1)

  2. How many hours of classroom instruction with a certified driver education instructor do the requirements of driver education include?

    • 20 hours
    • 24 hours
    • 30 hours
    • 36 hours
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 30 hours

    The requirements of driver education start with 30 hours of classroom instruction with a certified driver education instructor.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 1 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 1)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-2)

  3. How many hours of practice driving with a certified driver education instructor do the requirements of driver education include?

    • 8 hours
    • 10 hours
    • 12 hours
    • 15 hours
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 10 hours

    Driver education includes 10 hours of practice driving with a certified driver education instructor.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 1 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 1)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-3)

  4. How many hours of driving observation with a certified driver education instructor do the requirements of driver education include?

    • 4 hours
    • 8 hours
    • 12 hours
    • 6 hours
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 6 hours

    Driver education includes 6 hours of driving observation with a certified driver education instructor.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 1 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 1)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-4)

  5. How many hours of additional supervised driving time with a parent, guardian or other responsible adult do the requirements of driver education include?

    • 40 hours
    • 20 hours
    • 25 hours
    • 50 hours
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 40 hours

    Besides the instructor-led hours, driver education requires 40 hours of additional supervised driving time with a parent, guardian or other responsible adult.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 1 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 1)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-5)

  6. Of the additional supervised driving time with a parent, guardian or other responsible adult, how many hours must be completed at night?

    • 5 hours
    • 15 hours
    • 10 hours
    • 20 hours
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 10 hours

    The manual says 10 hours of the additional supervised driving time must be completed at night.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 1 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 1)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-6)

  7. How long do new residents have to obtain a New Hampshire driver's license after moving into the State?

    • Up to 30 days
    • Up to 60 days
    • Up to 90 days
    • Up to one year
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Up to 60 days

    New residents to New Hampshire have up to 60 days to obtain a driver's license after moving into the State.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 1 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 1)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-7)

  8. What must a new resident do with the valid driver licenses issued by other jurisdictions when applying for a New Hampshire driver's license?

    • Keep them as a backup
    • Surrender only the newest one
    • Keep any that are still valid
    • Surrender all of them
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Surrender all of them

    Under the One License Concept, new residents must surrender all valid driver licenses issued by any other jurisdiction when applying for a New Hampshire license.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 1 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 1)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-8)

  9. What happens to an application for a New Hampshire driver's license if the applicant's driving privileges are under suspension or revocation in another state?

    • It is not accepted until the privileges are reinstated
    • It is accepted if the applicant passes all three tests
    • It is accepted with a 60-day paper temporary license
    • It is accepted after the applicant lives here 60 days
    Show answer

    Correct answer: It is not accepted until the privileges are reinstated

    An application will not be accepted while the driver's privileges are suspended or revoked in another state, until they are reinstated.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 1 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 1)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-9)

  10. Which driver is exempt from obtaining a New Hampshire driver's license?

    • A new resident who still holds a valid license from the state he or she left
    • A resident of New Hampshire who holds a valid license from a foreign country
    • A US military member stationed in New Hampshire with a valid home-state license
    • A driver whose license is under suspension in the state he or she left
    Show answer

    Correct answer: A US military member stationed in New Hampshire with a valid home-state license

    Members of the US military stationed in New Hampshire who hold a valid license from their home state are exempt from obtaining a New Hampshire driver's license.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 1 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 1)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-10)

  11. What must a foreign citizen visiting the United States as a tourist hold to be exempt from obtaining a New Hampshire driver's license?

    • A New Hampshire non-driver identification card
    • A valid license from their home country
    • A passport and a 60-day paper temporary license
    • A written note from a licensed adult age 25 or older
    Show answer

    Correct answer: A valid license from their home country

    Foreign citizens visiting the United States as a tourist are exempt if they hold a valid license from their home country.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 1 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 1)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-11)

  12. What does the manual say about a non-resident who holds a valid license from his or her home state?

    • Must get a New Hampshire license within 60 days
    • Must surrender the home-state license
    • Must pass the knowledge test
    • Is exempt from getting a New Hampshire license
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Is exempt from getting a New Hampshire license

    Non-residents who hold a valid license from their home state are exempt from obtaining a New Hampshire driver's license.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 1 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 1)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-12)

  13. A non-resident driver with no valid out-of-state license may drive in New Hampshire only if accompanied by a licensed, responsible adult of what minimum age?

    • 25 years
    • 18 years
    • 21 years
    • 30 years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 25 years

    Such a driver must be at least 15 1/2 years old and accompanied by a licensed, responsible adult age 25 or older.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-13)

  14. What is the minimum age at which a person who does not possess a driver's license may drive a motor vehicle in New Hampshire while being taught to drive?

    • 15 years
    • 16 years
    • 15 1/2 years
    • 16 1/2 years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 15 1/2 years

    New Hampshire law allows a person at least 15 1/2 years of age, with no driver's license, to drive while being taught to drive when accompanied as the manual describes.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-14)

  15. New Hampshire does not issue permits to learn to drive. Who may accompany a person who is at least 15 1/2 and has no license while that person is being taught to drive?

    • Any licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age
    • A parent, legal guardian, or licensed adult age 25 or older
    • Only a certified driver education instructor
    • A licensed friend of the learner who is at least 18
    Show answer

    Correct answer: A parent, legal guardian, or licensed adult age 25 or older

    The exception applies when the learner is accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or a responsible adult who is 25 or older and a licensed driver.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-15)

  16. May a person whose driving privileges are suspended or revoked drive in New Hampshire if he or she holds a license from another state?

    • Yes, if the other state's license is still valid
    • Yes, if accompanied by an adult age 25 or older
    • Yes, but only during daylight hours
    • No, not under any circumstances
    Show answer

    Correct answer: No, not under any circumstances

    The manual says that under no circumstances may a person drive in New Hampshire if driving privileges are suspended or revoked, even with a license from another state.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-16)

  17. How many tests must an applicant pass to obtain an operator, non-commercial, driver's license?

    • Three
    • Two
    • Four
    • Five
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Three

    An applicant must successfully pass all three tests: the vision test, the automated knowledge test and the road test.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-17)

  18. What visual acuity must an applicant have in both eyes to pass the vision test?

    • 20/20
    • 20/50
    • 20/40
    • 20/60
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 20/40

    Applicants must have a visual acuity of 20/40 in both eyes.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-18)

  19. What visual acuity must an applicant who has sight in only one eye have to pass the vision test?

    • 20/20
    • 20/30
    • 20/25
    • 20/50
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 20/30

    If an applicant has sight in only one eye, the applicant must have a visual acuity of 20/30.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-19)

  20. An applicant is required to wear glasses or contact lenses to pass the vision test. Which restriction is placed on the license?

    • The "C" restriction for a mechanical aid
    • The "F" restriction for an outside mirror
    • The "G" restriction for daylight only
    • The "B" restriction for corrective lenses
    Show answer

    Correct answer: The "B" restriction for corrective lenses

    When glasses or contacts are needed to pass the vision test, they must be worn while driving and the B restriction for corrective lenses is placed on the license.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-20)

  21. What is required if the vision test is not passed, before additional driver's license testing can be completed?

    • An eye examination with a doctor's recommendation
    • A second vision test taken on the same day
    • A written statement from a parent or guardian
    • A road test with a licensed adult in the vehicle
    Show answer

    Correct answer: An eye examination with a doctor's recommendation

    If the vision test is not passed, an eye examination with a doctor's recommendation of visual capability is required before further testing.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-21)

  22. How many multiple choice questions does the automated knowledge test consist of?

    • 20
    • 30
    • 40
    • 50
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 40

    The knowledge test consists of 40 multiple choice questions about the rules of the road and general driving conditions.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-22)

  23. How many minutes do testers have to complete the automated knowledge test?

    • 20 minutes
    • 40 minutes
    • 30 minutes
    • 60 minutes
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 40 minutes

    Testers have 40 minutes to complete the knowledge test.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-23)

  24. The automated knowledge test automatically ends if more than how many questions are answered incorrectly?

    • 4
    • 10
    • 12
    • 8
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 8

    The manual says that if more than 8 questions are answered incorrectly, the test will automatically end.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-24)

  25. How many possible answers is each question on the automated knowledge test displayed with?

    • Four
    • Two
    • Three
    • Five
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Four

    Each question on the automated knowledge test is displayed with four possible answers.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-25)

  26. An applicant who wishes to take automated oral testing with headphones should do what?

    • Ask the Licensing Examiner during the road test
    • Bring personal headphones to the testing site
    • Notify the customer service representative first
    • Request it in writing after failing the test once
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Notify the customer service representative first

    Oral testing is available to anyone requiring it, and the applicant should notify the customer service representative before taking the test.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-26)

  27. Which of these can a Licensing Examiner not do during the road test?

    • Give clear and concise instructions
    • Coach the driver
    • Grade the applicant's driving habits
    • Ride in the vehicle with the applicant
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Coach the driver

    The Examiner gives clear and concise instructions but cannot coach the driver during the road test.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-27)

  28. On which of these are applicants graded during the road test?

    • Skill in handling the vehicle in traffic
    • How fast the driving course is completed
    • The age and make of the test vehicle
    • Knowledge of vehicle repairs and engines
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Skill in handling the vehicle in traffic

    During the road test applicants are graded on skill in handling the vehicle in traffic, driving habits, working knowledge and understanding of traffic signs and rules of the road.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 2 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 2)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-29)

  29. Who may be present in the vehicle during the road test?

    • The applicant, the examiner and the licensed driver who drove to the site
    • The applicant, the examiner and a parent or guardian
    • Only the applicant and the authorized Licensing Examiner
    • The applicant, the examiner and a driver education instructor
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Only the applicant and the authorized Licensing Examiner

    No person except the applicant and the authorized Division of Motor Vehicles Licensing Examiner may be present in the vehicle during the road test.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 3 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 3)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-30)

  30. An applicant who passes the tests is issued a paper temporary driver's license valid for how long?

    • 30 days
    • 60 days
    • 90 days
    • 120 days
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 60 days

    Applicants who pass are issued a 60-day paper temporary driver's license.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 3 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 3)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-31)

  31. If an applicant fails the knowledge test or the road test, how soon may the applicant retest?

    • Not sooner than ten days from the failed test
    • The next business day
    • Not sooner than five days from the failed test
    • Not sooner than thirty days from the failed test
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Not sooner than ten days from the failed test

    The applicant is given an appointment to retest not sooner than ten days from the failed test.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 3 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 3)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-33)

  32. Which of these must be true of the vehicle an applicant brings to the tests?

    • It is owned by the applicant, not by a relative
    • It is less than ten years old and has low mileage
    • It is registered, inspected and in safe running condition
    • It has an automatic transmission and a spare tire
    Show answer

    Correct answer: It is registered, inspected and in safe running condition

    The test vehicle must be legally registered, inspected, in safe running condition and of the proper class for the license being tested for.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 3 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 3)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-34)

  33. What must the licensed driver who drives the test vehicle to and from the testing site do?

    • Ride in the back seat during the road test itself
    • Remain at the test site until the road test is done
    • Take the knowledge test first
    • Leave after dropping off the applicant
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Remain at the test site until the road test is done

    That person is required to remain at the test site until the road test has been completed.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 3 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 3)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-35)

  34. Under New Hampshire law, a driver’s license for a person under what age needs special consent before it is issued?

    • 16 years
    • 19 years
    • 21 years
    • 18 years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 18 years

    The manual says no person under the age of 18 may be issued a driver’s license without the consent conditions the law sets, such as written permission from a parent or guardian.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 3 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 3)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-36)

  35. How often is a person given the opportunity to designate consent to be an organ and tissue donor?

    • Only on the first application for a driver's license
    • Only when a license is renewed
    • Every time he or she applies for a license or ID card
    • Only when the applicant turns 18
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Every time he or she applies for a license or ID card

    The manual says every time a person applies for a driver's license or non-driver identification card, the person is given the opportunity to consent to be an organ and tissue donor.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 3 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 3)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c1-38)

  36. What does a motor-driven cycle license allow the operator to operate?

    • A bicycle with a motor attached that has no more than 2 brake horsepower
    • A bicycle with a motor attached that has no more than 5 brake horsepower
    • A three-wheeled motorcycle with a motor of any size
    • A bicycle with a motor attached that has up to 10 brake horsepower
    Show answer

    Correct answer: A bicycle with a motor attached that has no more than 5 brake horsepower

    A motor-driven cycle license allows the operator to operate a bicycle with a motor attached which has no more than 5 brake horsepower.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 4 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 4)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-1)

  37. Under what condition does a driver not need a moped license?

    • The driver is at least 21 years old and has a clean record
    • The moped is not driven at night
    • The driver holds a motor-driven cycle license only
    • The driver already has a Class A, B, C, D or motorcycle license
    Show answer

    Correct answer: The driver already has a Class A, B, C, D or motorcycle license

    Drivers do not need a moped license if they already possess a Class A, B, C, D or motorcycle license.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 4 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 4)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-2)

  38. What does a motorcycle license allow the driver to operate?

    • Motorcycles, 3-wheeled motorcycles, motor driven cycles and mopeds
    • Motorcycles and 3-wheeled motorcycles, but not mopeds
    • Motorcycles and motor driven cycles, but not 3-wheeled ones
    • Motorcycles and mopeds, but not 3-wheeled motorcycles
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Motorcycles, 3-wheeled motorcycles, motor driven cycles and mopeds

    A motorcycle license allows the driver to operate motorcycles, 3-wheeled motorcycles, motor driven cycles and mopeds.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 4 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 4)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-3)

  39. Which persons will be issued a Youth Operator license?

    • Any person 16 years of age or older and under the age of 18
    • Any person 18 years of age or older and under the age of 21
    • Any person 16 years of age or older and under the age of 21
    • Any person 15 1/2 years of age or older and under 18
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Any person 16 years of age or older and under the age of 21

    Any person 16 years of age or older and under 21 is issued a Youth Operator license.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 4 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 4)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-4)

  40. On which birthday does a Youth Operator license expire?

    • The holder's 18th birthday
    • The holder's 21st birthday
    • The holder's 19th birthday
    • The holder's 25th birthday
    Show answer

    Correct answer: The holder's 21st birthday

    Youth Operator licenses expire on the holder's 21st birthday.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 4 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 4)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-5)

  41. How are Youth Operator licenses printed?

    • Horizontally
    • In red ink
    • With a blue border
    • Vertically
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Vertically

    Youth Operator's licenses are printed vertically.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 4 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 4)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-6)

  42. A Youth Operator license holder under 18 shall NOT operate a motor vehicle between which hours?

    • 1:00 am and 4:00 am
    • 11:00 pm and 5:00 am
    • 12:00 midnight and 5:00 am
    • 1:00 am and 6:00 am
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 1:00 am and 4:00 am

    A Youth Operator under 18 may not operate a motor vehicle between 1:00 am and 4:00 am.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 4 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 4)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-7)

  43. During the first six months of holding a Youth Operator license, how many passengers under 25 who are not family members may a driver under 18 carry without a licensed, responsible adult age 25 or older?

    • None
    • Two at most
    • One at most
    • Three at most
    Show answer

    Correct answer: One at most

    A driver under 18 may not carry more than one non-family passenger under 25 in the first six months unless accompanied by a licensed, responsible adult at least 25.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 4 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 4)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-8)

  44. The REAL ID Act, enacted by the US Congress, created minimum security standards for what?

    • Vehicle registration
    • Driver education programs
    • Identification
    • Vehicle insurance
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Identification

    The REAL ID Act created minimum security standards for identification and prohibited federal agencies from accepting identification that does not meet the standard.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 4 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 4)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-12)

  45. For which use will the federal government require a New Hampshire driver's license or non-driver identification card to meet REAL ID requirements?

    • Registering a vehicle with the DMV
    • Boarding a domestic flight
    • Renewing a license online
    • Buying motor vehicle insurance
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Boarding a domestic flight

    A license or card must meet the REAL ID requirements if it is to be used as identification to board a domestic flight or enter a secure federal facility.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-13)

  46. Are New Hampshire residents required to hold a REAL ID compliant identification?

    • Yes, all residents must hold one
    • Yes, but only residents under age 21
    • Yes, but only residents who drive a motor vehicle
    • No, since a passport and other forms of ID are accepted
    Show answer

    Correct answer: No, since a passport and other forms of ID are accepted

    NH residents are not required to hold a REAL ID compliant identification, since other forms of identification such as a passport will be accepted.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-14)

  47. New Hampshire non-driver identification cards may be issued to residents who are at least what age?

    • 12 years
    • 10 years
    • 14 years
    • 16 years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 12 years

    Non-Driver Identification Cards may be issued to New Hampshire residents who do not hold a valid driver's license and who are at least 12 years of age.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-15)

  48. What documentation must applicants provide to obtain a non-driver identification card?

    • A letter from a doctor and a school record
    • A birth certificate and a school transcript
    • The same documentation needed for a driver's license
    • A signed statement from a parent or guardian
    Show answer

    Correct answer: The same documentation needed for a driver's license

    Applicants for a non-driver identification card must provide the same documentation needed to obtain a driver's license.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-16)

  49. Which test is required for a driver new to New Hampshire who holds a valid out-of-state driver's license?

    • A vision test and a knowledge test
    • A vision test only
    • A knowledge test and a road test
    • A road test only
    Show answer

    Correct answer: A vision test only

    Only a vision test is required for drivers new to New Hampshire holding a valid out-of-state driver's license.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-17)

  50. What is required of a driver new to New Hampshire whose out-of-state driver's license has been expired for more than one year?

    • Passing the vision test and the road test
    • Passing the knowledge test and the road test
    • Passing the vision test and the knowledge test
    • Passing the vision, knowledge and road tests
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Passing the vision, knowledge and road tests

    If the out-of-state license has been expired for more than one year, the applicant must pass the vision, knowledge and road tests.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-18)

  51. What must an applicant new to New Hampshire successfully complete to get a license for a class of vehicle different from the one currently held?

    • The appropriate written test and road test for that class
    • Only the vision test and a doctor's note
    • Only the road test for that class of vehicle
    • Hold the current class for at least one year first
    Show answer

    Correct answer: The appropriate written test and road test for that class

    The appropriate written test and road test for the new class of vehicle must be successfully completed.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-19)

  52. New Hampshire driver's licenses expire every how many years?

    • 3 years
    • 4 years
    • 5 years
    • 10 years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 5 years

    NH driver's licenses expire on the applicant's birthday every 5 years.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-20)

  53. On what date does a New Hampshire driver's license expire?

    • The last day of the applicant's birth month
    • The applicant's birthday
    • January 1 of the fifth year
    • The anniversary of the road test
    Show answer

    Correct answer: The applicant's birthday

    NH driver's licenses expire on the applicant's birthday every 5 years.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-21)

  54. About how long before a license is due to expire is a renewal reminder mailed to the applicant's last known mailing address?

    • Approximately two weeks
    • Approximately four months
    • Approximately six months
    • Approximately two months
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Approximately two months

    A reminder is mailed approximately two months before the license is due to expire.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-22)

  55. How far in advance may an applicant apply for a license renewal if the applicant plans to be temporarily out of state at the time of renewal?

    • Up to six months
    • Up to two months
    • Up to one year
    • Up to three years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Up to six months

    Applicants may apply for a license renewal up to six months in advance if they plan to be temporarily out of state at the time of their renewal.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-23)

  56. An applicant does not renew before leaving the state and will not return before the license expires. What must be done to be eligible for a 6-month temporary?

    • Notify the DMV by telephone on the license expiration date
    • Have a licensed adult age 25 or older renew for the applicant
    • Notify the DMV in writing
    • Return to the state within six months
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Notify the DMV in writing

    The DMV must be notified in writing for the applicant to be eligible for a 6-month temporary.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-24)

  57. Under which condition will a renewal notice not be sent?

    • The applicant is under 21 years of age
    • The applicant changed address without telling the DMV
    • The applicant holds a Youth Operator license now
    • The applicant renewed online at the last renewal
    Show answer

    Correct answer: The applicant changed address without telling the DMV

    A renewal notice will not be sent if the applicant changed the mailing address since the last renewal and did not notify the DMV, or if the license privilege is under revocation or suspension.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-25)

  58. If a renewal notice is not received, whose responsibility is it to renew the license before the expiration date?

    • The DMV's
    • The licensing examiner's
    • The applicant's insurance company's
    • The applicant's
    Show answer

    Correct answer: The applicant's

    Renewal of a driver's license is the responsibility of the applicant, even if no renewal notice is received.

    Source: ⁨New Hampshire Driver’s Manual (DSMV 360 (Rev. 11/25))⁩, page 5 · Open this page in the manual (Manual page 5)

    Report a problem with this question (nh-c2-26)