Driving Test Practice
English

Montana: Alcohol and drugs — Part 2 Practice Test

Questions in this part include: “How is BAC usually determined, according to the manual?” · “Under the "Report A Drunk Driver" program, are you required to give your name?”

Independent educational site · not affiliated with any government agency or DMV

Start the test

Ready? Test yourself

18 questions · About 7 min

  • Instant feedback with an explanation
  • Every answer cites its source in the manual
  • Your best score is saved on this device
  • Keyboard: press 1 to 4 to answer and Enter for the next question

Questions are original and based on the official manual "Montana Driver Manual" (Revised April 2024), Montana Department of Justice, Motor Vehicle Division.

All 18 questions in this practice test

Take the test above first, then use this list to study. Tap “Show answer” to see the correct answer and explanation.

Show the questions and answersHide the questions
  1. How is BAC usually determined, according to the manual?

    • By a breath, blood, or urine test
    • By a walking and turning test only
    • By a written questionnaire
    • By a doctor's visual examination only
    Show answer

    Correct answer: By a breath, blood, or urine test

    BAC is the percentage of alcohol in your blood, and is usually determined by a breath, blood, or urine test.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 72

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-33)

  2. What can happen to your driver license if you refuse to take a BAC test?

    • Nothing happens if you pass a road test
    • It is only marked with a warning
    • You can lose it
    • It is suspended only if you are under 21
    Show answer

    Correct answer: You can lose it

    You can lose your driver license if you refuse to take a BAC test.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 72

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-34)

  3. For a first conviction of an alcohol violation, how much will you be fined, plus court charges?

    • From $50 to $100
    • From $300 to $1000
    • From $1000 to $5000
    • From $150 to $500
    Show answer

    Correct answer: From $300 to $1000

    For a first conviction of an alcohol violation, the fine is from $300 to $1000, plus court charges.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 72

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-35)

  4. For a first conviction of an alcohol violation, how long a jail sentence could you receive?

    • 1 to 10 days
    • 6 months to a year
    • 30 to 90 days
    • 1 to 60 days
    Show answer

    Correct answer: 1 to 60 days

    For a first conviction of an alcohol violation, you could be sentenced to 1 to 60 days in jail.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 72

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-36)

  5. For a first conviction of an alcohol violation, how long will your license be suspended?

    • Six months
    • Thirty days
    • One year
    • Two years
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Six months

    For a first conviction of an alcohol violation, your license will be suspended for six months.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 72

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-37)

  6. Where may an open alcoholic beverage container be kept in a motor vehicle that has a trunk?

    • On the front passenger seat
    • In the cup holder next to the driver
    • In the trunk or luggage compartment
    • On the floor in front of the passenger seat
    Show answer

    Correct answer: In the trunk or luggage compartment

    Open alcoholic beverage containers must be kept in a locked glove compartment or storage compartment, or in a trunk, luggage compartment, truck bed or cargo compartment.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 72

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-38)

  7. Which of these is an exception to Montana's open container law?

    • A container that has been resealed with its cap after being opened
    • A container with an unbroken seal and none of the original contents removed
    • A container that is less than half full and kept near the driver
    • A container held by a back seat passenger who is over 21
    Show answer

    Correct answer: A container with an unbroken seal and none of the original contents removed

    The open container law makes an exception for containers with an unbroken seal and none of the original contents removed.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 72

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-39)

  8. Which of these is an exception to Montana's open container law?

    • Passengers riding in a car driven by a friend or family member
    • Passengers riding in the back seat of a pickup truck
    • Passengers riding in a car that is parked at the roadside
    • Passengers transported by a hired driver in a bus, taxi, or limousine
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Passengers transported by a hired driver in a bus, taxi, or limousine

    The open container law makes an exception for passengers transported by a hired driver within a bus, taxi, or limousine.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 72

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-40)

  9. Where may open containers be stored within the law in a camper, travel trailer or motor home?

    • Within the living quarters
    • Within the driver's compartment
    • On the dashboard
    • On the passenger seat beside the driver
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Within the living quarters

    The open container law makes an exception for open containers stored within the living quarters of a camper, travel trailer or motor home.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 72

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-41)

  10. If you suspect a person of driving while intoxicated, what does the "Report A Drunk Driver" program ask you to give law enforcement?

    • The driver's name, date of birth and home address
    • The names and addresses of everyone in the vehicle
    • The vehicle's description and direction of travel
    • A photograph of the driver taken from your car
    Show answer

    Correct answer: The vehicle's description and direction of travel

    People who report a suspected drunk driver are asked to give a description of the vehicle and the direction in which it is traveling.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 72

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-42)

  11. Under the "Report A Drunk Driver" program, are you required to give your name?

    • Yes, you must give your full name
    • No, you do not have to give your name
    • Yes, but only if you are over 21
    • Yes, but only if you saw a crash
    Show answer

    Correct answer: No, you do not have to give your name

    You do not have to give your name.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 72

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-43)

  12. What does a drug warning about operating heavy machinery mean for you?

    • Drive only on roads you know well
    • Drive only in the daytime
    • Drive only for short distances
    • Do not drive your car or truck
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Do not drive your car or truck

    Drug warnings about operating heavy machinery mean DO NOT DRIVE YOUR CAR OR TRUCK.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 73

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-44)

  13. What does the manual say about drinking alcohol while taking other drugs?

    • The drugs could multiply the effects of alcohol
    • Alcohol cancels out the effects of the drugs
    • Alcohol makes drugs safe to take before driving
    • It is safe if you drink only one alcoholic beverage
    Show answer

    Correct answer: The drugs could multiply the effects of alcohol

    Never drink alcohol while you are taking other drugs. The drugs could multiply the effects of alcohol or have additional side effects of their own.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 73

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-45)

  14. What does the manual say about pep pills, "uppers," and diet pills?

    • They are safe to take before driving because they improve alertness for hours
    • They make you drowsy right away but improve your night vision later
    • They can make you feel more alert for a short time, but later make you nervous and dizzy
    • They have no effect on your driving if they were bought without a prescription
    Show answer

    Correct answer: They can make you feel more alert for a short time, but later make you nervous and dizzy

    Pep pills, uppers, and diet pills can feel like they make a driver more alert for a short time, but later can cause a person to be nervous, dizzy, and unable to concentrate.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 73

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-46)

  15. What does the manual say about drugs taken for headaches, colds, hay fever or other allergies, or to calm nerves?

    • They have no effect on driving because they are sold without a prescription
    • They can make a person drowsy and affect their driving
    • They always make a driver more alert
    • They are safe to take with alcohol
    Show answer

    Correct answer: They can make a person drowsy and affect their driving

    Drugs taken for headaches, colds, hay fever or other allergies, or to calm nerves can make a person drowsy and affect their driving.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 73

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-47)

  16. What should you do if you are not sure it is safe to take a drug and drive?

    • Wait one hour after taking it before you drive
    • Take half the usual amount
    • Drive only in the daytime
    • Ask your doctor or pharmacist about any side effects
    Show answer

    Correct answer: Ask your doctor or pharmacist about any side effects

    If you are not sure if it is safe to take the drug and drive, ask your doctor or pharmacist about any side effects.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 73

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-48)

  17. What do studies show about people who use marijuana, even with a prescription?

    • They make more mistakes and have slower reflexes
    • They have faster reflexes at night
    • They have less trouble with glare
    • They get arrested for traffic violations less often
    Show answer

    Correct answer: They make more mistakes and have slower reflexes

    Studies have shown that people who use marijuana, even with a prescription, make more mistakes, have slower reflexes, have more trouble adjusting to glare, and get arrested for traffic violations more than other drivers.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 73

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-49)

  18. What does the manual say about medical marijuana and driving?

    • It has no effect on your driving because a doctor prescribed it for you
    • It affects only your hearing, and never your judgment or your vision
    • It can affect your reflexes, judgment, vision, and alertness in ways similar to alcohol
    • It affects your driving only if you take it together with alcohol or a sleeping pill
    Show answer

    Correct answer: It can affect your reflexes, judgment, vision, and alertness in ways similar to alcohol

    Other prescription drugs, including medical marijuana, can affect your reflexes, judgment, vision, and alertness in ways similar to alcohol.

    Source: ⁨Montana Driver Manual (Revised April 2024)⁩, page 73

    Report a problem with this question (mt-c6-50)